Population Health Pioneer Award Recipients

We are recognizing local population health champions for their outstanding work in healthcare at the 2023 Signify Symposium.


The Population Health Pioneer Awards are presented each year to honor those who have best served their patients, their community, and the healthcare industry through their leadership, dedication, and innovation over the past year.


2023 Population Health Pioneer Award Winners



Community Level Recipients



2023 Community of the Year


Burgess logo_color



2023 Community of the Year




2023 Award for Rural Innovation and Wellness





Individual Level Recipients



ACO Champion of the Year


Joleen Headshot - Cropped (1)


Joleen Carper, Tri-State Memorial Hospital

Joleen Carper, MSML, RHIT, CPHQ, is the Chief of Clinic Operations for TriState Health, a critical access hospital on the southeastern border of Washington State. The organization also has 3 primary care clinics, a walk in urgent care clinic, and more than 10 specialty clinics. She provides strategic and operational leadership while overseeing physician recruitment and clinic expansions. Directly managing more than one-third of the current organization’s workforce, she has expanded TriState’s footprint into two states and has been a significant proponent in implementing sought-after service lines.
Her work also includes being the Accountable Care Organization’s ACO champion, directly affecting TriState’s operations by consistently achieving shared savings.
Joleen’s major accomplishments include: leading multiple clinics that consistently land in the Top 10% Performer for Patient Satisfaction from Survey Vitals; achieving the Patient Centered Medical Home Designation in two primary clinics; and overseeing the planning and construction of an $8.5 million medical office building.
She is currently an Advisory Board Member for the Administrative Medical Office Program at Lewis-Clark State College, the Treasurer for the Southeast Washington Alliance for Health, and actively volunteers throughout the community.


Physician Leader of the Year

Dr. Jonathan Thorp, Guam Seventh-day Adventist Clinic

Jonathon Thorp MD MBA FACP Dip-ABLM is passionate about the care of complex internal medicine patients and always looking at ways to increase access to care and to better serve his community.  Dr. Thorp grew up on a farm in Western Canada, graduated from Loma Linda University School of Medicine, and completed his residency in Internal Medicine at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center.  He spent four years working in Nepal in a semi-remote non-profit hospital after which he moved to Guam, where he is currently employed.  His is the Assistant Medical Director at the Guam Seventh-day Adventist Clinic and co-leader of the Population Health team with Mr. Andrew Porter.  In his spare time, he enjoys spending time with his wife and their energetic 6, 4, and 2-year old children; growing microgreens and experimenting with hydroponics; and he is training for his first marathon in what little time he has left. 

Dr Thorp Headshots (3)


Population Health Nurse of the Year

Tamara Laws_Headshot_20221121


Tamara Laws, Population Health Nurse  

I’ve been a nurse for 15 years. I graduated from Regis University in 2005 with my BSN. I love working with people and going the extra mile to ensure they feel as though they have been heard. My focus for most of my career has been home health and hospice. Since COVID started I have dedicated my time and energy to helping bridge the gap in patient care needs by becoming a population health nurse.